Welcome to Korza Books

Korza Books is an independent trade publisher headquartered in Portland, Oregon devoted to challenging the structure of the traditional publishing industry. We are community oriented, defiantly readable and happy to meet you.

RELEASES



“Poetry For People: Fifty Years of Writing” by Dixie Lubin

A poetry collection that is the literal work of a lifetime, Dixie Lubin’s “Poetry For People” is available now. Bringing together over five decades of written material, Poetry For People is the first collection from Kansas poet Dixe Lubin. From the tumult of her Southern Baptist childhood, to a free-love 1960s young adulthood, through fifty years of marriage and raising three daughters in poverty, while touching countless lives as a teacher and artist, Dixie has engaged with it all through her unique artistic lens.

Her voice encompasses the scope of the human condition, invoking earthly lust, mystic meditation, bawdy humor and vivid grief, connecting deeply with everyone fortunate enough to encounter it. Out of a life shaped by love, loss, and a devotion to humanity and the planet itself, this book is the indelible result of the inimitable Dixie.

Available now

Booksellers: Book is available on Ingram, ISBN 9781957024004

Split Aces by M.L. Schepps

For fans of EC Comics, Stephen King and the Twilight Zone comes this noir-inflected psychological allegory. Jim Dougherty—former “gifted kid” now drifting middle-aged millennial—had given up on his dreams of achieving lasting literary success, settling into the slow decay of dealing blackjack in a tired old casino out in the Nevada badlands. But when the mysterious stranger shows up at the table with knowledge of a mystery Jim thought he’d buried back in boarding school, he’s forced out of his rut and into danger. Jim learns that the price of self-improvement can be deadly.

Available via print at Antiquated Future

and for Ebook Via Kindle

Booksellers: Book is available on Ingram, ISBN 9781957024028

“They say hell is the gulf between who you could have been and who you ended up as. But for me? I’ve learned to reject that kind of binary thinking, that all or nothing striving. Success isn’t a destination, it’s a journey. Any minute spent worrying about “what might have been” is another minute that comes between you and “what still could be.”

From “Split Aces” by M.L. Schepps
Promotional video for “Split Aces” made by Katie Borak

Is It Just Me Or Are We Nailing This?: Essays On BoJack Horseman

Published by Antiquated Future, this Broken Pencil Award winning zine was the genesis for Korza Books. Editors Michael Schepps and Molly E. Simas, working alongside editor and publisher Joshua James Amberson and a wide range of contributing Portland writers and artists, put together a celebration and examination of the Netflix series BoJack Horseman. The anthology touches on everything from screwball anthologies, existential absurdity, intergenerational alcoholism and much more. Proceeds benefit the Black Resilience Fund and the National Lawyers Guild.

With words from: Joshua James Amberson, Timothy Day, Jessica Fonvergne, Lauren Hobson, Tessa Livingstone, M.L. Schepps, Jourdain Searles, and Molly E. Simas. Plus an interview with Leca from BoJack Hidden Jokes

Illustrations from: Eileen Chavez, Ross Jackson, Naomi Marshall, and Liz Yerby. Cover and back cover art by Sarah Mirk. 

Purchase here

“This swift moment, easily missed by the casual watcher, points to the cognitive dissonance of existing with modern industrial systems by performing its fallacy in real time: What if we’re monsters! Aha, never fear! Monstrousness is codified into the fabric of our very institutions! so don’t worry about it! We the audience, aware of yet numbed by our own monstrous world, feel a flicker of recognition. We laugh while seeing ourselves reflected.”

Molly E. Simas–”All Contact is Contact” from “Is It Just Me Or Are We Nailing This: Essays on BoJack Horseman

Posts of Interest

Write to us at: 1819 Sw 5th Ave #293, Portland, OR 97201

KorzaBooks@gmail.com